Virtual Digital Economy Seminar

The Virtual Digital Economy Seminar (VIDE) is an open online international and inter-institutional seminar on the digital economy. All seminars are on Thursdays at 8:00am Los Angeles - 11:00am New York - 4:00pm London - 5:00pm Berlin - 6:00pm Tel Aviv.
The schedule can be imported as aGoogle calendar here or as anics file here.
Follow the series on Twitter: @DigitalEconOrg.

Upcoming Events

Date
Speaker
Title

Previous Events

Date
Speaker
Title

The Uncertainty of Privacy Valuations under Choice Architecture

Personal Social Networks, Technology Skills, and Worker Performance Under Telework

Artificial Intelligence, Algorithmic Bidding and Collusion in Online Advertising

Stand Out from the Millions: Market Congestion and Information Friction on Global E-Commerce Platforms

Browsing the Aisles or Browsing the App? How Online Grocery Shopping is Changing What We Buy

Decision Authority and the Returns to Algorithms

The Abundant University: Remaking Higher Education for a Digital World

Sponsored Search in Equilibrium: Evidence from Two Experiments

Echo Chambers: Does Online Network Structure Matter?

Gender Orientation and Segregation of Ideas: #MeToo’s Impact in Hollywood

Communication and Bargaining Breakdown: An Empirical Analysis

Behavioral Advertising and Consumer Welfare: An Empirical Investigation

Free digital goods and economic welfare

The Production and Consumption of Social Media

Dog Eat Dog: Measuring Network Effects Using a Digital Platform Merger

Social Media and Newsroom Production Decisions

Competition, Contracts, and Creativity: Evidence from Novel Writing in a Platform Market

Strategic Automation and Decision-Making Authority

Flagship Entry: Evidence from Alibaba

Attention and Inattention to Baseball Telecasts: Implications for Content (Re-)Design

Discovering Firms' Data Strategies: A Topic Modeling Approach

Biased Programmers? Or Biased Data? A Field Experiment in Operationalizing AI Ethics

Where the Cloud Rests: The Economic Geography of Data Centers

Go to You Tube and Call Me in the Morning: Use of Social Media for Chronic Conditions

Firm Organization in the Digital Age: IT Use and Vertical Transactions in U.S. Manufacturing

The Robot Revolution: Managerial and Employment Consequences for Firms

Apparent Algorithmic Bias and Algorithmic Learning

Polarization and Public Health: Partisan Differences in Social Distancing during the Coronavirus Pandemic

Luis Cabral (New York University), Fiona Scott-Morton (Yale University), and Tommaso Valletti (Imperial College London)

Special Panel Session on "Merger Policy in Digital Markets"

Mobile Targeting Using Customer Trajectory Patterns & Nudging Mobile Customers with Real-Time Social Dynamics

Social Distancing, Internet Access and Inequality

Could Machine Learning be a General Purpose Technology? Evidence from Online Job Postings

Digitization and Product Discovery: The Causal and Welfare Impacts of Reviews and Crowd Ratings