back to list

BCCP Conference and Policy Forum 2018

June 08, 2018
Time 09:45–17:30
Leibniz Association Chausseestraße 111, Großer Saal 10115 Berlin
Notes Participation is free of charge but registration is required at this link.

BCCP Conference and Policy Forum 2018

Topic:Regulatory Challenges in Digital Markets: Trust Online

The tremendous growth of digital transactions has profoundly affected the way we interact, opening vast opportunities to improve our lives. Consumers have benefited from an unprecedented proliferation of new services and products. At the same time, consumers often must process large amounts of imperfect information regarding the products they purchase, services they use, and general online interactions. Even more, for many services consumers need to share highly personal information. Being able to both rely on third party information as well as safely share personal data not only requires a well-designed legal framework and active enforcement. Consumers must trust (potentially dominant) platforms, providers of goods and services, as well as the individuals they interact with online.

Review and recommendation systems can fill large parts of this need in many commercial transaction contexts. Privacy and data protection regulations intend to strengthen consumers' trust in using digital technologies for an ever-growing set of daily tasks. Will the new European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) deliver this? How can online marketplaces be designed to allow both firms and consumers to benefit maximally? What is the role of consumer trust for the success of the ambitious project to implement the European Digital Single Market? This conference aims to tackle these questions, the interplay between consumer information and trust online, as well as the regulatory challenges in harnessing the power of digital technologies to its fullest extent by facilitating consumer trust and participation online.

Confirmed Speakers

Juhan Lepassaar (European Commission, Head of Cabinet to Vice President Andrus Ansip)
Michael Luca (Harvard Business School)
Terrell McSweeny (US Federal Trade Commission)
Steve Tadelis (University of California, Berkeley)
Ari Ezra Waldman (New York Law School)
Glen Weyl (Microsoft Research and Yale University)